© 2019 Future Science Group

Unitec House, 2 Albert Place,

London, N3 1QB, UK

Email: info@future-science-group.com
Tel: +44 (0)20 8371 6090

  • LinkedIn - White Circle
  • Facebook - White Circle
  • Twitter - White Circle
  • YouTube - White Circle


06 November 2019
Meet the winner of the 2019 Future Science Future Star Award

Future Science Group today announced the winner of the Future Science Future Star Award – awarded to outstanding early career researchers who are working towards the advancement of human healthcare.


Dr Marjorie Pizarro-Guajardo was chosen by a combination of our expert judging panel and the public vote.


Marjorie is a postdoctoral fellow at the Universidad Andrés Bello (Santiago, Chile) specializing in microbiology. Her work focuses on the development of a strategy to remove Clostridium difficile spores from the host to make a therapy that can improve the clearance of the infection.


“I am really happy [to have won this award], this gives me the opportunity to show all of my research and my passion about this work to other people, not just fellow scientists but to my family and friends as well. It meant many people were asking me about my work and that is great because it means we are moving the science out of the lab and into society,” commented Marjorie.


Initially called the Early Career Research Award, the award, supported by the journal Future Science OA, aims to recognize outstanding, highly talented and motivated researchers within the first 5 years of their first career position (in academia or industry), who are set to have a big impact in their field. This year’s winner will receive membership of the Future Science OA early career advisory panel, a webinar to present their work, and a monetary prize, among other prizes.


“The caliber of nominees was once again outstanding this year and competition was tough,” commented Francesca Lake, Managing Editor of Future Science OA. “We’re delighted to have Marjorie as our 2019 winner – she is doing excellent work in her field in difficult circumstances and has a bright future ahead. She’s certainly an inspiration.”


More information about Marjorie and the other two finalists is available at https://www.future-science.com/journals/fso/category/earlycareerresearch/award


About Future Science OA


Launched in March 2015, Future Science OA is a peer-reviewed, open access, biomedicine and biotechnology journal from the Future Science Group. Its articles present the latest research, putting them into context for the future, and are published using a CC-BY license. Alongside research, the journal features review articles, editorials and perspectives, providing readers with a leading source of commentary and analysis.


About Future Science Group


Founded in 2001, Future Science Group (FSG) is a progressive publisher focused on breakthrough medical, biotechnological and scientific research. FSG’s portfolio consists of three publishing imprints, Future Science, Future Medicine and Newlands Press, as well as a content development imprint, PharmaPlatforms. In addition to a core business of subscription and open access journal publishing, FSG develops specialist knowledge networks and content hubs, enabling professionals to easily connect and collaborate with their peers in niche scientific fields.

The aim of Future Science Group is to serve the advancement of clinical practice and drug research by enhancing the efficiency of communication among clinicians, researchers and decision-makers, and by providing innovative solutions to their information needs. This is achieved through a customer-centric approach, use of new technologies, products that deliver value-for-money and uncompromisingly high standards.