6 September, 2018

Meet the finalists of the Future Science Early Career Research Award 2018

Voting is open to choose the most outstanding early career researcher of 2018.

Future Science Group (FSG) today announced the finalists for the Future Science Early Career Research Award 2018. Voting is now open to the public to choose the winner.


The award aims to recognize outstanding, highly talented and motivated researchers within the first 5 years of their first career position (in academia or industry), who are set to have a big impact in their field.


“Establishing a career in biomedical research is difficult, particularly with the immense pressure to publish and funding constraints. Nevertheless, brilliant research continues, supported by excellent early career researchers. At Future Science OA we want to recognize the achievements of these researchers, along with their contributions to the future of biomedical research,” commented Francesca Lake, Head of Open Access Publishing at FSG and Editor of Future Science OA, the journal supporting the award.

The finalists are:


·         Dr Viviana Mucci, University of Antwerp

·         Dr Aya Mousa, Monash University

·         Dr Hannah Wardill, University of Adelaide and the University of Groningen

·         Dr Amy Winship, Monash Biomedicine Discovery Institute

·         Dr Nivea Sa, Stony Brook University


“The caliber of this year’s candidates is fantastic,” Francesca continued. “We’re also delighted to see so many women finalists – it really shows that scientific research is moving forward in terms of gender equality.”


The award was launched in 2017, with Joe Abisambra (University of Kentucky, USA) winning the inaugural award. This year’s winner will receive membership of the Future Science OA early career advisory panel, a webinar to present their work, and a monetary prize, among other prizes. The finalists were chosen by a panel of judges from the Future Science OA Editorial Board.


Voting is currently open to decide the winner of the 2018 award. Readers can view the finalists’ profiles and vote at:

About Future Science OA


Launched in March 2015, Future Science OA is a peer-reviewed, open access, biomedicine and biotechnology journal from the Future Science Group. Its articles present the latest research, putting them into context for the future, and are published using a CC-BY license. Alongside research, the journal features review articles, editorials and perspectives, providing readers with a leading source of commentary and analysis.



About Future Science Group


Founded in 2001, Future Science Group (FSG) is a progressive publisher focused on breakthrough medical, biotechnological, and scientific research. FSG’s portfolio includes two imprints, Future Science and Future Medicine. In addition to this core publishing business, FSG develops specialist eCommunities. Key titles and sites include Bioanalysis Zone, Epigenomics, Nanomedicine and the award-winning Regenerative Medicine.


The aim of FSG is to service the advancement of clinical practice and drug research by enhancing the efficiency of communications among clinicians, researchers and decision-makers, and by providing innovative solutions to their information needs. This is achieved through a customer-centric approach, use of new technologies, products that deliver value-for-money and uncompromisingly high standards.

© 2019 Future Science Group

Unitec House, 2 Albert Place,

London, N3 1QB, UK

Tel: +44 (0)20 8371 6090

  • LinkedIn - White Circle
  • Facebook - White Circle
  • Twitter - White Circle
  • YouTube - White Circle